Chipotle and Chorizo Tortilla Soup

IMG_2179

I’m not entirely convinced that winter is through yet.  The weather has flip-flopped so many times that I don’t hold a lot of hope.  Next week calls for wet snow and I am definitely not feeling that.

I started this blog in late fall last year in hopes to make winter pass by more quickly.  I guess it didn’t really work out that way, but it allowed me to get in more recipes than I anticipated.

I think this is my 20th recipe.  I’m not sure what I’ll do with this space once winter is officially over.  Perhaps I’ll continue to post new soup recipes, but it will certainly be sporadic.  As much as I love soup, I can only tolerate it so often in a small and sweltering apartment.

  • 4 chorizo sausages, casings removed
  • 2 medium onions, sliced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 small can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 handful cilantro, chopped
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • Salt and pepper
  • Shredded cheese of choice

IMG_2147

IMG_2148

 

IMG_2157

Heat a large soup pot on medium high heat.  Add the chorizo and cook, stirring occasionally, until browned.  Once browned, mix in the onions, jalapeno, garlic, bay leaves, salt, pepper, and stir until onions have softened.  Sprinkle in the flour and stir, cooking until the liquid has been absorbed, for about 3 minutes.  Stir in the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and the tomatoes and cook for 5 more minutes.

IMG_2162

Add the stock, lime, juice, beans, and bring the heat up high to boil.  Cover and cook for 30 minutes.  Stir in the cilantro and avocado and serve immediately.  Top the bowls with some shredded cheese (I used Monterey Jack because it was on sale) and stick in some tortilla chips.

Serves 4 – 6.
2 thoughts on “Chipotle and Chorizo Tortilla Soup

Leave a Reply

