Chili and Lime Cucumber Salad

Soup Sides

I’ve decided to add a Soup Sides section to this blog.  It will usually be something light or something bready and I will add a suggested soup to pair.

***

It’s all happening!  This was the first entire weekend I could go without a winter coat.  Both Saturday and Sunday.  Maybe it is actually all going to be fine!

I decided to make a quick salad for yesterday’s lunch that was reminiscent of a spicy salad I had when I was in Laos two years ago.  I used what I had on hand.  The vegetables and/or fruit could be switched up to suit what you’ve got in your fridge or on your countertop.

I haven’t been up to making soups recently since I’d rather not get a head-start in heating up the steam-bath that is my apartment in the summer.  Yesterday, my boyfriend and I were both feeling a bit under the weather.  It was around 18 degrees outside and I decided to revisit my chicken stew recipe.  Needless to say, I deeply regretted it about 5-10 minutes into the simmering.  All of the open windows in the world couldn’t cool my hot and humid apartment.

Suggested Soup:

I would pair this salad with either the Chicken Pad Thai Soup or the Spicy Chicken and Lemongrass.  The sweet, sour, salty, and spicy flavours of the salad are reflected in both soups.

  • 1 large cucumber
  • 1 small apple
  • 1 medium carrot
  • 3 tbsp lime juice, divided
  • 2 tbsp crushed chili pepper flakes
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Pinch of sugar

Using a cheese grater, grate the cucumber, apple, carrot, and squeeze out a little bit of the water.  Toss into a bowl with 2 tbsp of the lime juice so that the apples don’t brown.

In a separate small bowl, combine the rest of the lime juice, chili flakes, fish sauce, rice vinegar, garlic, salt, and sugar and mix well.  Stir the mixture into the salad and serve on a bed of greens of your choice.

Serves 1 – 2.
Leave a Reply

