White Wine Pork and Turnip Stew (Low Carb)

image (2)

 

I got up really early this Saturday morning to start on this soup. This was because I hadn’t done my stock ahead of time and I was wanting to use up some chicken bones and vegetables I had hanging around.

Eight hours of simmering bones and meat heated my apartment like a brothy sauna and, before I knew it, I was day drunk from sipping on wine and marinating in a soupy steambath. I spent my weekend personifying stew; watching Louie on Netflix and only leaving the apartment once to meet a couple of friends that all agreed that my hair smelled exactly like a stew.

When I think of stew, I usually picture at least one root vegetable in there, but most are high in carbs. I recently found out that turnips are a lot lower in carbs than most root vegetables and I am one of the few people on the planet that actually likes turnip, so I was pretty excited about getting started on this recipe. Turnip plays the same role as a potato would in this stew. It has the same texture of a potato and it certainly helped thicken the broth as a potato would. Stewing the turnip for so long made for a much milder flavour and I received zero complaints from my turnip-hating significant other.

image (4)

  • 2 lbs pork tenderloin, cubed
  • 3 turnips, roughly chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 3 big handfuls cremini mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 2 medium onions, diced
  • 1 bulb garlic, minced
  • 2 cups dry white wine
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp thyme
  • 1 tbsp rosemary
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 3 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • Salt and pepper
  • Optional: 4-6 dried chilies for a bit of heat

Season the pork with salt and pepper. Heat 1 tbsp of oil in large stock pot over medium heat. Working in batches and adding oil as needed, brown the pork on all sides. Turn the meat over only when it starts to release from the pot. If it’s still sticking, it’s not yet browned!

Remove the meat from the pot and set aside. Add more oil to the pot, salt and pepper the onions and cook for about 5-10 minutes on medium low or until onions are starting to brown. Add the turnips and garlic and cook for another 10 minutes. Toss in the peppers, mushrooms, oregano, thyme, rosemary, and bay leaves. Stir until fragrant; about 5 minutes, and add the wine, stock, dried chilies, and pork. Turn the heat up to boil and deglaze the pot.

Cover the pot and bring the heat down to low to simmer for an hour, stirring every now and then. After vegetables are just starting to shrink down and are disintegrating a bit, take the lid off the pot and turn the heat up to medium. Lightly boil the liquid down for about 20-30 minutes or until desired thickness.

Serves 4 – 6.

image

2 thoughts on “White Wine Pork and Turnip Stew (Low Carb)

Leave a Reply

