Roasted Eggplant Burgers (Low Carb, Vegan)

 

photo (6)

I think the winter may be starting to wear on me. I’ve been feeling a little uninspired and not as much up to cooking as I usually am. I find myself eating ingredients or parts of meals for lunches and dinners. Eating an avocado, a tomato, and fistfuls of arugula separately rather than putting it together to make a salad. I’ll get back into it eventually, but there is still so much winter left and February is always the toughest to get through.

Just have to power on through.

This is the first recipe posted that I find difficult to relate back to soup. Nonetheless, it is low carb and vegan, making this recipe suited to many diets. I’ll still categorize this under Soup Sides, anyway.

These can be used in place of burgers with your favourite toppings. I like to top mine with arugula, hot sauce, and pico de gallo or crumble it into salads. I have also used this recipe to make meatballs and they turned out really well.

photo (8)
Pre-bake. Please ignore the parchment paper. I tried this recipe once using parchment and found they were too difficult to flip.

 

  • 2 eggplants, cut into large pieces
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 3/4 cup flax meal
  • 6-8 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tbsp pepper
  • 4 green onions
  • 4 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place garlic cloves in skin in a tin foil packet. Brush eggplants with oil, salt, and pepper and place on a baking tray and roast with the garlic packet for about 30 minutes or until softened and starting to brown.

Let eggplant cool a bit if you wish to remove the skins. I prefer to keep them on. Once the garlic has cooled a bit, remove the skins. Put through the food processor with the remainder of the ingredients until well combined.

Form into 6 large patties and bake on a lightly oiled baking sheet at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Flip and cook another 30 minutes or until patties have firmed up.

Makes 6 large patties.
5 thoughts on “Roasted Eggplant Burgers (Low Carb, Vegan)

Leave a Reply

