Spicy Cauliflower and Jalapeño Soup (Low Carb, Vegetarian)

 

photo (4)

After more than a year of blogging about soups and experiencing the many frustrations of using an upright blender, I have finally got my hands on an immersion blender.

It’s about time, no?

photo (2)

No longer will I have to wonder, “Is today going to be the day that a hot soup explodes out of the blender and into my face?”

Actually, I can’t take full credit for making the move because I didn’t even make the purchase. I came home to one sitting on the kitchen table. That lovely man of mine.

Also a big thanks to Target Canada for taking our country by storm, only to leave us with liquidation sales shortly thereafter.

I wasted no time after work and threw this together with what few ingredients I had on hand, excited to test out my new toy.

What turned out to be a sexy hybrid of my Roasted Cauliflower and Garlic Soup and Jalapeño Cheddar Soup, the results were too good not to post.

photo (6)

  • 1/2 head cauliflower, broken into florets
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 jalapeños, minced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp taco seasoning (I use this mix and up the chili flakes a bit)
  • 6 cloves of garlic, separated and in skins
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup cheddar, grated
  • 3 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 green onion, chopped

Put the garlic into a tin foil packet. Toss the cauliflower with half of oil, salt, and pepper, and roast with the garlic packet at 375 degrees for 40 minutes. Let the garlic packet cool before removing the skins. Set aside.

Heat the rest of the oil on medium low and cook onions with a bit of salt and pepper until softened; about 5-10 minutes. Add the jalapeños, cauliflower, garlic, and taco seasoning and stir for a couple of minutes until fragrant.

Add the stock, cover, and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn the heat down to simmer on low for about 30 minutes. Blend with an immersion blender, or in a few batches in a regular blender.

Stir in the cream and add the cheese in small batches. Make sure each batch is melted before adding a new batch to ensure the cheese does not clump together.

Garnish each bowl with green onions.

Serves 4 – 6.
9 thoughts on “Spicy Cauliflower and Jalapeño Soup (Low Carb, Vegetarian)

  1. I just realized I failed to weigh in on the outcome of this recipe here on its original posting 😉 5 Stars & my cauliflower-dodging-man gobbled it up learning only ‘after’ he ate bowl number two which immediately followed bowl number 1 that it had cauliflower in it! 😉 So far my favorite soup of this new year 😉 Thank you again.

  2. “Is today the day the hot soup explodes out of the blender and into my face?”

    Hahahha! So true though as it happened to me so I’m glad you dodged that bullet lol

    Your new immersion blender is stunning! Your going to have so much fun with ‘her’ and be constantly amazed at all her uses 😉

    1. Thanks so much for reading!! I feel like a real adult now that I’ve got a proper tool for blending soup.

      Hahaha, hot soup in the face is a very real concern! Nothing worse than a scalded face!

      1. Heading to the store in the next 10 minutes and roasting the veggies is a new one for me so in excited to do this today..

        Plus my man will eat just about anything but cauliflower isn’t one of them so I’m making this soup today while he’s asleep then springing it on him sans mentioning the cauliflower being an ingredient.

        😉 I love it! Ha!

Leave a Reply

