Chicken and Shrimp Green Curry (Low Carb)

photo

Today’s post features a guest writer. The Soupy Stovetop kitchen was once again graced with the presence of my good friend, Dan. You may remember him from such recipes as Pork and Pancetta Chili Soup, and The BBT: Bacon Basil Tomato Soup.

Whenever Dan visits me in Toronto, he will always suggest we work on a new Soupy Stovetop recipe, which I love. I especially need that push to create when I’m feeling so uninspired due to the everlasting winter blues.

Thanks for giving me that boost I always need, Dan!

* * *

Between wine and sleeping on the couch and wine and cats, I’m always keen to take advantage of any opportunity to help out at The Soupy Stovetop.

I tend to try to identify something that pushes my boundaries, as well as something that doesn’t crop up so often on the blog. I’d never made a green curry and when we decided we were going to do one I really wanted to ensure that it actually turned out green. (Editor’s note: He was truly VERY concerned with this; he vocalized this many times pre-curry, worrying that certain vegetables would change the colour.)

I spent most of my time preparing the shrimp with my favourite cat, while all sorts of magic happened in the kitchen proper: especially with respect to the green curry paste. That green curry paste is phenomenal, and likely much more versatile than this soup belies.

I’m sure you all know, but add the shrimp at the last possible moment. We ditched the shrimp shells, but leave them if you want – especially if you’re one for presentation or for the briny kind of dimension that they can add.

And lastly, you can never have too much coconut milk. Buy more than you think you’ll need. You can also use it again next time, and you’ll never know when you’ll want just that little bit more to add that certain rich, goodness.

XOXO and UNTIL NEXT TIME

– Dan

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 500 g peeled and de-veined shrimp
  • 3 cans coconut milk
  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup homemade green curry paste (see below)
  • 1/2 green pepper, cut into thin strips
  • 1/2 red pepper, cut into thin strips
  • 2 big handfuls of cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 stalk lemongrass, roughly chopped into large pieces
  • 1-2 limes for juice
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • Salt and pepper

For the Green Curry Paste:

I based my paste off of this simple recipe.

  • 5 green chilies, chopped
  • 2 lemongrass stalks, finely chopped
  • 1 cup packed fresh coriander
  • 1 small chopped onion
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 1-2 inch piece ginger
  • 2 tsp grated lime rind
  • 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 cup water

Combine all green curry paste ingredients in a food processor and pulse until smooth, adding a bit of water as needed. It should be a smooth paste texture, but not watery.

photo (2)
Leftover curry paste can be stored in the fridge for about a week.

 

Heat half of oil over medium in large stockpot. Cook chicken on all sides until fully done and set aside. Add the rest of the oil to the pot and cook the onion with salt and pepper until softened; about 5 minutes.

Add the curry paste, stir a few minutes until fragrant, and add the stock, coconut milk, fish sauce, lime juice, and lemongrass. Bring the heat up to boil, add the green and red peppers, and turn the heat down to simmer.

Simmer, uncovered, for 15 minutes and add the mushrooms and shrimp. Cook another 5-10 minutes or until the shrimp is cooked through and the mushrooms have softened.

Serves 4 – 6.

photo (1)

5 thoughts on “Chicken and Shrimp Green Curry (Low Carb)

  1. I live in a big ‘ol house with no insulation – so that’s saying something about how much I love your soup! …And thank you, that means a lot! My wee blog is still in it’s infant form, but I’m chipping away with love.

Leave a Reply

