Elderflower Liqueur (Low Carb)

homemade elderflower liqueur

Not a soup nor a side, but post-worthy. I promise. You can also find my updated post/recipe for Sugar-Free Elderflower Liqueur over at my other site, Keto Rat.

Most times when I’m eating or drinking something delicious, I’ll pound my fist on the nearest table and exclaim, “Ooooh SHIT this is fucking GOOOOOOOOOD!” followed by spiralling into deep thought about how I can 1) replicate the recipe and 2) create a low carb version. Frantic internet research ensues. Multiple tabs open as I mix and match recipe upon recipe until I have a general formula in my brain for what I want to create. This happens with just about every stupidly delicious thing I encounter. I become obsessed with the idea until I have time to make it happen. It feels so empowering when I’m able to reproduce something like this successfully.

This recipe was no exception. Around Christmas time, I got really into St. Germain liqueur. The problem is, it’s packed with sugar and super pricey. When researching what I could do to make my own elderflower liqueur, almost every single recipe called for fresh elderflower. The reasoning behind this was usually stated as to not “spoil the colour”. Well, I didn’t give a shit about the colour, so I used dried elderflower.

The first time I tried this recipe, I used way too much erythritol/stevia blend and made the mistake of refrigerating the mixture. I used 1:1 ratio with the water and much of the erythritol/stevia crystallized into large chunks. The chunks stuck around even after I took it out of the fridge on day two. The second time, I cut down on the sweetener blend and used about 4 cups of water to 3 cups of the sweetener and left it out on the counter. The sweetener didn’t crystallize, but some of it clumped together like slush at the bottom of the bowl. Don’t get me wrong, the liqueur tasted amazing both times after straining, I just realized how much of the sweetener I was wasting and this stuff ain’t cheap. Third time’s a charm, some might say, so I used about a 2:1 ratio, with a touch more water, and it was perfect. The sweetener blend stayed completely dissolved.

I feel like this stuff would last a good while in the cupboard because of the vodka and citric acid, but don’t quote me on that. I love this stuff so much that it goes pretty quickly anyway.

4 1/2 cups water
2 cups erythritol/stevia blend* (or equivalent sweetener of choice)
1/2 cup dried elderflower (find this at your local herb shop)
1 large lemon, sliced
3 tsp citric acid
2 1/2 cups 40% (80% proof) vodka, such as stolichnaya
Large stainless steel or glass bowl

1.5 – 2 litre glass container

*Find this premixed blend at Bulk Barn (where I get mine) or look for the brand Swerve at a natural health food store.

img_8551

Combine water and sweetener into a large pot and bring to a boil, stirring frequently, until sweetener is dissolved to make a simple syrup. Once fully dissolved, take off of the heat and set aside.

Combine the lemon slices, elderflower, and citric acid into a large stainless steel or glass bowl/container, and add the simple syrup to the rest of the ingredients. Give it a good stir without squishing or mashing the lemons, let cool and cover with plastic wrap or a lid. Leave it on the counter or somewhere dark and cool for around 3 to 5 days.

Give it a good stir a couple times per day and taste until the flavour is to your liking. I find somewhere around 3.5 to 4 days is perfect. I have not yet had the patience to wait a full 5 days.

Through a fine mesh strainer lined with paper towel or cheesecloth, strain the liquid and pour into a 1.5 – 2 litre jar or container with a good seal. Add the vodka bit by bit and taste until you’re happy with it. I find around 2:1 ratio makes for a very balanced liqueur. Sweet and easy drinking, finishing with a bit of a warm kick.

Drink over ice or mix into your favourite elderflower cocktail! I find it to go well in a gin and soda.

5 thoughts on “Elderflower Liqueur (Low Carb)

  1. Sounds amazing. I saved the recipe for future. Just a suggestion I make simple syrup with eyrithritol and stevia to which I add 1/8 tsp or less. Stops the crystallization. Wonder if it would work in this applicationšŸ¤”. It seems to work on my homemade tonic water recipe.

  2. Amazing as always for you to find ways to make your booze…defintely a sister of mine and I love you!

Leave a comment